Contact Us

For media enquiries call
020 3276 3803
or 07803 903686 for urgent out of hours enquiries.

You can also email the press office.

Follow us on @policechiefs

ACPO Police Public Bravery Awards 2012

24 May 2012

Ordinary people were honoured for taking part in extraordinary acts of bravery at the annual ACPO Police Public Bravery Awards tonight.

The awards, held as part of the ACPO conference in Manchester, recognised outstanding acts of courage by members of the public for their selfless actions in helping victims of crime.

Honorary Awards Secretary Chief Constable David Crompton said “every day, somewhere in the UK, people put themselves in harm’s way in order to aid others who are vulnerable or at risk – and that’s not always just police officers.”

“These nationwide awards are a chance for the police service to thank those public-spirited men, women and youngsters who’ve helped their communities to face up to the threat that crime brings,” he said.

“The Police Public Bravery Awards do not exist to encourage people to place themselves in danger, but they do represent the opportunity, once a year, for police to pay tribute to those in the community, who no doubt consider themselves to be ordinary people and yet have performed extraordinary acts of bravery.

“These acts are a true expression of public spirit and courage. They show that the famous quote from Robert Peel, the father of modern policing, is alive and well - `The police are the public and the public are the police.’”

This year’s award recipients come from across 18 force areas. A total of 28 awards were given out tonight – seven gold and 21 silver awards. Another 24 people were commended for their bravery and will be awarded at ceremonies by their local force at another time.

For the first time the Binney Medal, the highest overall accolade, was awarded to two recipients this year due to the calibre of nominations.

Those honoured were Colin Thomas, who was shot in the stomach while trying to prevent five men from taking £70,000 worth of jewellery from a store in Croydon; and student Ben Hudson, who was stabbed while trying to prevent a fellow pupil being attacked at his school in the West Midlands. The victim, a 14-year-old school girl was stabbed 11 times in the attack by her ex-boyfriend who was later jailed for 13 years.

Those force areas with award recipients (including commendations) include:

Avon and Somerset, British Transport Police, Cheshire, City of London, Cumbria, Essex, Greater Manchester Police, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Merseyside, Metropolitan Police, North Wales, Northumbria, South Wales, West Midlands, West Yorkshire and Lothian and Borders.

For information of award recipients please contact the individual force in your area. The forces with members of the public who were honoured at the ceremony are listed above.

The Police Public Bravery Awards were instituted in 1965 as Provincial Police Awards by members of the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO), who wished to recognise outstanding cases of assistance given to the police by members of the public in helping to keep law and order.

The Binney Award was instituted in 1947 in honour of Captain Ralph Binney RN who lost his life in 1944 when he made a single-handed attempt to prevent the escape of ‘smash and grab’ thieves in the City of London.

For more information please contact:

ACPO Press Office
Association of Chief Police Officers