Contact Us

For media enquiries call
020 3276 3803
or 07803 903686 for urgent out of hours enquiries.

You can also email the press office.

Follow us on @policechiefs

2015 Queen's birthday honours

13 Jun 2015

Members of the police service are included in today's honours which recognise the achievements of a wide range of extraordinary people across the UK.

National Police Chiefs' Council Chair Sara Thornton said:

“I would like to offer my heartfelt congratulations to those members of the police service included in the Queen’s birthday honours.

“It is right that they are acknowledged today for their exceptional contribution to policing and the demonstrable selflessness and sacrifice shown throughout their careers to keep our communities safe.”

Detective Inspector Howard Way, UK Disaster Victim Identification (DVI), which is part of the National Police Coordination Centre (NPoCC), will receive an Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the Queen’s birthday honours for services to disaster victim identification policing alongside several other Met officers and staff. 

This nomination is in recognition of services to DVI in the UK and abroad over the last 10 years. He has made a significant contribution to the response to mass fatalities incidents offering exceptional expertise and experience. 

He said: “I am surprised and delighted to receive this honour. I would like to thank all my colleagues within the police service and from partner organisations, who have worked with me in the field of Disaster Victim Identification over the years. I would not have received this honour without all their efforts in training, exercising and live operations. 

“The UK’s ability to respond to mass fatality incidents relies on a significant team effort involving many people, all trying to do their very best for the families concerned.”

The full list of members of the police service included in this year's honours is:

CBE (Commanders of the Order of the British Empire) 

Lynne Owens, Chief Constable, Surrey Police and NPCC Lead for Operations

OBE (Officers of the Order of the British Empire) 

Irene Curtis, Chief Superintendent, Lancashire Constabulary and President of Police Superintendents' Association of England and Wales

Gareth Madge, Director of Legal Services, South Wales Police

Howard Way, Detective Inspector, UK Disaster Victim Identification, National Police Coordination Centre

Richard Stones, Inspector, Nottinghamshire Police

Ian Readhead, Chief Executive, ACRO Criminal Records Office

MBE (Members of the Order of the British Empire) 

Colin Lewis, Inspector, Merseyside Police

Alice Walters, Lead Scientist for Firearms, Metropolitan Police

Hayley Sherwen, Police Constable, Merseyside Police

Umar Hussain, Chief Financial Officer, South Wales Police

Caroline Peters, Chief Superintendent, Avon and Somerset Constabulary

Keith Asman, Head of Forensics and Digital Investigation, South East Counter Terrorism Unit

Deborah Potter, Chief Officer, Dorset Constabulary 

BEM (British Empire Medal)

Robert Sewell, Police Cadet, Metropolitan Police

Karen Evans, Domestic Violence Forum Chair, Hampshire Constabulary

Linden Riley, Special Constable, Greater Manchester Police

Ann Barlow, Home Watch Coordinator, Greater Manchester Police

QPM (Queen’s Police Medal)

Alan Pughsley, Chief Constable, Kent Police

Andrew Adams, Deputy Chief Constable, Hertfordshire Constabulary and NPCC lead for Sporting and Planned Events and Fox Hunting & Badgers

Christine Jones, Commander, Metropolitan Police and the NPCC lead for Mental Health

Christopher Armitt, Assistant Chief Constable, Merseyside Police and the NPCC lead for Prostitution and Sexual Exploitation

Dawn Copley, Assistant Chief Constable, Greater Manchester Police

John Campbell, Deputy Chief Constable,  Thames Valley Police and the NPCC lead for CBRN

Simon Prince, Chief Constable, Dyfed-Powys Police and NPCC lead for Wildlife and Rural Crime

Jonathan Boutcher, Deputy Chief Constable, Bedfordshire Police and NPCC lead for National Undercover and National Source

Nadeem Fazil Mir, Detective Superintendent (Retired), Greater Manchester Police

Hywel Griffiths, Detective Constable, Gwent Police

Stephen Swani, Inspector, Devon and Cornwall Police

Steven Hibbitt, Detective Chief inspector, Humberside Police 

Sunita Gamblin, Chief Superintendent, Derbyshire Constabulary

Stephen Swani, Chief Superintendent, Devon and Cornwall Police

Andrew Murray, Detective Superintendent, Thames Valley Police

Karl Rathbone, Inspector (Retired), North Wales Police

Steven Simmons, Detective Sergeant, British Transport Police